The Dark Knight Rises – Trailer #1

It’s here. It’s finally here.

After waiting god knows how long, we have our first full glimpse at what Christopher Nolan has in store for the last installment of his Batman trilogy. The trailer just went live over at apple.com.

I’ve got to say, I’m very pleased with what I see.

Bane, both his physical presence and the fact that he barely speaks in the trailer, is an ominous force throughout the clips shown. I’m really starting to think he may prove a worthy follow-up to Heath Ledger’s Joker from The Dark Knight. The only problem I actually have so far is that it is near impossible to understand what Bane is saying. I’ve watched the trailer about five times so far, and I still can only make out “When Gotham is ashes…”, or something along those lines. Hopefully they make him more audible and clear in the final film.

I really like the direction Nolan is taking with Bruce Wayne having to “Rise”, or to reiterate much of the series’ theme, to pick himself up. I really believe Nolan’s going to give an incredible ending to the Batman universe he’s created.

I also really like the music so far, and am really interested to see where Hans Zimmer takes the chanting idea. It could produce an extremely unique score.

Overall, I’m quite happy. This is exactly what I expected, which is saying a lot because expectations have been enormous for the film’s first full length trailer.

Also, the football scene is absolutely insane. I’m seriously considering seeing this the first time in IMAX.

Have you seen the trailer yet? What do you think? Leave a comment below!

– KZ

2 thoughts on “The Dark Knight Rises – Trailer #1

Leave a comment