Twitter / The Digitalization of Physical Products

In case anybody didn’t know, I just recently joined returned to Twitter. You can find me at twitter.com/kenneth_zink. Follow me and we’ll be buds!

I also wanted to share a revelation I had recently.

I had been thinking about the e-Book / traditional publishing conflict that’s getting worse and worse and I wondered, why do people embrace the digitalization of media such as the film and video game industries yet resolutely oppose the digitalization of books? Then it occurred to me.

Many of you have probably already realized this but for me, this was like a light bulb going on in our head.

What I realized is that across the board the content itself is never changed when any piece of media is digitalized. What people have an issue with is how they experience that content.

A physical copy of a dvd or game does not hold much value to people. It’s a case of plastic with a circular disk of information that is always either in the case itself or in our dvd or game consoles, not in our actual hands.

Do you have an e-reader?

The fact is, there’s a certain kind of experience to be had when reading a physical book, something you can’t get from movies or games. You hold a book in your hands for time that collectively amounts to hours and sometimes even days. Reading a physical book is an intimate experience, one that cannot be replicated by digital copies, at least not in our lifetime. While the content is the same, consumers are upset because the e-Book industry is changing the way we experience books.

It’s because of this that I feel somewhat hopeful that physical books will always be available. Sure, they may have to make some room for the digital industry, but there’s more than enough room for the two to co-exist instead of one destroying the other.

Hugo, a beautifully designed book.

I don’t know why I’m so fascinated with this epiphany, but I definitely wanted to share my thoughts on the matter.

Have some thoughts on the matter? Share your thoughts in the comments below!

Everybody have a safe and happy weekend!

– KZ

3 thoughts on “Twitter / The Digitalization of Physical Products

  1. I agree there is something to holding a book, a physical copy dvd or video game. Is an odd sort of a physical/digital hybrid, one that you don’t hold to use so it doesn’t matter if it is stored in a tv, or computer or what have you.

  2. Hi Kenneth! I just had the same epiphany! I wrote about it on my blog: TrendSurferBlog.com. I think what’s happened with music and photography is happening to books and print media.

    • I guess it’s obvious that people want to still be able to use physical books, but I had never been able to pinpoint exactly why other than “Oh, there’s just nothing like it”. I think it’s just a more intimate experience than any other form of media. I’ll be sure to check out your blog!

Leave a comment