Netflix Review – 1/30/12

You may be a Netflix subscriber and, if you’re like me, find the films available for their Instant Streaming option underwhelming. Each Monday I write up a post meant to showcase new arrivals / hidden gems I’ve seen and recommend.

Jack Goes Boating is Phillip Seymour Hoffman’s directing debut, and stars him as well.

The film is as indie and low-key as movies get. Hoffman plays a socially awkward man looking to better his life, which he does with the help of an equally challenged woman. The movie is funny at times and serious at others, and is an enjoyable comedy in the indie landscape.

Daniel Tosh: Completely Serious is a live performance by Daniel Tosh, a well-known comedian.

I had never really been exposed to Tosh’s work, but I really enjoyed Completely Serious. Tosh’s humor is incredibly dark and heavy, and the man is akin to an adult child with ADD, but I say that with the most complimentary of connotations. He discusses very serious issues in a very sarcastic, ironic, and satirical manner, and I really recommend this one for anybody looking to be thoroughly entertained.

Unfortunately it seems we’re in something of a drought when it comes to new choices available on Netflix’s streaming option, and I’ve been busy lately so I haven’t been able to watch many movies on Netflix. Hopefully next week I have some more films to discuss!

– KZ

Leave a comment